Liverpool’s Rugby League World Cup 2021 fixtures announced

22nd July 2020

The Rugby League World Cup comes to England in 2021, and tournament organisers have today (July 21st) revealed the much-anticipated fixture schedule for what promises to be the biggest and best World Cup in the history of the sport, as the men’s, women’s and wheelchair teams all compete at the same time in a major sporting first.

Liverpool will be hosting three fixtures at RLWC2021, starting off with an Anfield double-header, before staging the wheelchair final.

The full fixture list for Liverpool is as follows:

  • England vs Canada (Women’s) – Anfield (Saturday 13th November) – 12.00pm
  • Men’s Quarter-Final (Teams TBC) – Anfield (Saturday 13th November) – 14.30pm
  • Wheelchair Final (Teams TBC) – M&S Bank Arena (Friday 26th November) – 19.30pm

In June, it was revealed that Liverpool will be the team training base for the men’s teams from Tonga and Italy.

61 fixtures over a six-week period will showcase a festival of world class sporting action. With only seven days without a fixture across the schedule, the dates, venues and kick-off times* for each of the three tournaments is now confirmed and available to view at

Please visit for more information, for details on how to sign up to receive ticket alerts and all the latest news first.

Jon Dutton, RLWC2021 Chief Executive, said: “This is a huge moment for the tournament and for fans in our host cities and towns as we reveal the full fixture schedule.

“The tournament has been gaining momentum over recent months and fans can now look forward to being part of this unique global event. With match dates and locations confirmed, the excitement will only intensify.

“RLWC2021 will bring together the very best that the sport has to offer, and you can see from the schedule that there is no end of world class, not-to-be-missed matches, across all three tournaments.”

Liverpool’s Deputy Mayor and cabinet member for culture, tourism and events, Councillor Wendy Simon, said: “Announcing the fixtures for a major sporting event is always an exciting milestone and we’re delighted to be the only city to host the men’s, women’s and wheelchair teams tournaments.

“We will be giving a very warm welcome to the England and Canada women’s teams and their fans, and look forward to seeing how the competition unfolds to find out who we will be cheering on in the men’s quarter final and the wheelchair final.

“It’s going to be an exciting build up to 2021 and we look forward to hosting this world class event.”

About Rugby League World Cup 2021

The Rugby League World Cup is the pinnacle major event of rugby league, globally contested every four years. England 2021 will be a breakthrough moment in the tournament’s history with the men’s, women’s and wheelchair competitions being staged together for the first time.

The three tournaments will take place across 21 venues throughout England. Both the women’s and wheelchair competitions will be contested by two groups of four teams, whilst the men’s tournament will see 16 teams compete across four groups.

RLWC2021 will be the most visible rugby league event in history with all 61 games in the men’s, women’s and wheelchair competitions being broadcast live on the BBC.

22nd July 2020